Empathy

^ This song has become the boost we need when we start to drag.

We certainly needed some empathy on Monday. Fourteen miles was scheduled to be completed last Friday, but the wind and wet snow was just too much. We knew we had some beautiful Spring Preview days coming up, so we shot for Monday instead; 60 degrees and partly sunny? Yes please!

I tried my best to take in some extra protein the night before, and that morning I relaxed at the local Starbucks with a Chai and a breakfast sandwich. I was impatiently awaiting 3:30, when my friend would arrive from her morning shift and we could get things moving. We didn’t get started until about 5 – oops – but things went smoothly for a while. We changed locations and ran at another local lake – ten times the size of the one I normally run around – so the change of scenery was helpful. There were plenty of other runners/walkers out enjoying the beautiful weather. The Honey Stingers were a nice added boost, too (truly a runner’s best friend).

With 2.5 hours of running, and in a heavy traffic area, there were a few stops we couldn’t help but make: a bathroom break, waiting for a light to change, power-walking so I wouldn’t choke on my Honey Stinger. We went through high highs and low lows the whole time, but overall it was extremely rewarding. This marked the longest I have ever ran, and my friend’s first half marathon and then some! It was exciting when Nike+ congratulated us. Whew. We finished in complete darkness, aside from a few dim street lights.

My legs were a little tense yesterday, but today I’m really feeling it. I’m going for a 3 miler shortly to loosen things up a bit. Friday will be 16, in the great city of Philadelphia. I hate to do two long runs so close together – my chances of an injury rise ::knock on wood:: – but our schedules only allow us that day this week to dedicate specifically to running. And eating. (And drinking?) I’ll try to avoid letting that happen again. Wish us luck.

Oh, and if you haven’t tried Spaghetti Squash, please do. Like, now. Get off the computer, get in your car, and drive to the nearest grocery. You won’t regret it. I call it the Tofu of Pasta and it’s my new favorite thing.

Happy running, my friends!

12 Comments

Filed under Fitness

12 responses to “Empathy

  1. Congratulations on your long run, Nicole Marie. And good luck on the next one. I love spaghetti squash. Actually I love all squash but spaghetti is my favorite. Tastes just like pasta.

  2. We make a mock fetuccine alfredo with spaghetti squash.
    Congrats on the long run, and soon, you’re average everyday training run will be that long!

  3. That’s actually not a horrible idea to do that Nicole. It will acclimate you to running on tired legs. Make sure you’re drinking staying hydrated!

    Love those Honey Stingers too!

  4. Spaghetti squash is the best pasta substitute. If I can create a lasagna squash, I can die happy.

Leave a Reply

