Climbing that ladder!

marathon-quotes

The smaller runs have been going smoothly. I never thought I’d see a day where 4 or 5 miles was small and easy to me. But, when you’re headed towards 26.2 miles, those 4 and 5 miler days grow smaller and smaller in the distance. I ran 11 miles on Friday. The friend with the knee problem ran with me, and she experienced barely any pain – thank goodness for that! It seems the Glucosamine her doctor put her on has been helping, along with the knee-strengthening exercises. We managed to keep every mile under 10 minutes, and found ourselves “power walking” only once; towards the end my calves were starting to tighten up and I needed to slow down for a moment.

The wind kept itself at bay long enough for us to finish. We were pelted by a few random pieces of hail, too. It was nice to have someone to talk to, to distract me and make the run more enjoyable. This week’s schedule is 4, 6, 4 then 12. I’m starting to whip out the Chomps and count my calories again, being sure to get in enough protein and give myself enough extra energy to burn during those long runs. Any advice on great before/after snacks or meals is much appreciated.

Happy running, everyone. 🙂

5 Comments

Filed under Fitness

5 responses to “Climbing that ladder!

  1. All I can say is good luck on your training.

  2. Waiting and working for the day when I CAN run 5 miles! Still training up to the first 5k, this week will probably see me running 2 miles without walking. Less than 2 weeks to the first race, won’t finish C25K by then, but I will complete both the race and the program, and then look for the next one, while training up to a 10K, hopefully before July…keep up the great work, Nicole, you’re my hero 🙂

Leave a Reply

