Training: Day 1 & 2 (Sort of.)

Monday, January 7th: 3 miles.

Tuesday, January 8th: 4 miles. 

I use a pretty sweet application on my phone each time I run: Nike+. It keeps track of my time, my calories burned, even the route I ran. And when it’s hooked up to Facebook, I’ll get cheers from my fan club along the way. It’s definitely motivating.

I spent all of last week completely pumped for the 16-week training to begin, a friend of mine starting to train with me. (For now, anyway…she wants to do this, but her knee isn’t feeling so hot. Fingers crossed the doctor gives her some good news tomorrow.) I thought I had it all planned out, 16 weeks, May 5th, right on track! We got this!

Wrong. Apparently I can’t count. I received a text a few days ago, just as I was daydreaming blog ideas, that read something like this: “You know if we start this Monday that’s a week early, right?”

Whoops. So I decided we’d start this week anyway, as a warm-up of sorts. And so yesterday’s run of 3 miles went smoothly, after a month (and a half-assed attempt at the Insanity workout) of no runs. My legs were feeling the burn on several hills, but it was great. Times shall be posted once the real training begins.

But until then, welcome to my journey. If you’re training for a marathon, or have already run several, I’d love to hear your thoughts (and advice) on running 26.2 miles. I’m scared. Excited, but scared.

13 Comments

Filed under Fitness

13 responses to “Training: Day 1 & 2 (Sort of.)

  1. I have absolutely no advice.
    But I can’t wait to hear how training in winter goes!

  2. Nicole, best of luck. I’ve only run a half marathon, then I got injured. I haven’t been back on track with running for awhile. I think you will inspire me here. I’m rooting for you. You can do it!

    • Thank you so much! And I really hope I can inspire others to get back on track. It’s a struggle for me sometimes; some days I’d rather lay in bed than run. But (as I’m sure you know) once you’re up and in the zone, you’re so glad you pushed yourself. Best of luck getting back into things – I hope to read about it over at your page. 🙂

      • Yes, Nicole. Best of luck to you. I hope to get on track again. I know once you’re out there running, it’s the best. Even if I have a lousy day, if I went running everything’s okay because I had accomplished something.

  3. I’ll be following your every move… Well not in a scary creepy stalker way, but like in a supportive fellow marathoner way. Okay so maybe a little creepy, but not scary, I hope.

    Are you following a specific training plan? I used Hal Higdon’s Intermediate. It was pretty good, but I know there are several out there. The extra week is a good idea in case you get sick or injured, or if you have a tough week and want to repeat one, you’ll be able to with ease.

    Good luck, YOU GOT THIS!!!

    • Ah, so true about the extra week! And THANK YOU!!! I’ll need you along the way! So please, stalk me in the most non-creepy way ever. ❤ I'm using a training schedule I found on marathonrookie.com. It seems pretty straight-forward; a few rest days, a few 3-4-5 mile runs during the week, then every Saturday is the long one (increased by about a mile or two every Saturday). As I scanned the miles and saw that 20 towards the end of training, I definitely got nervous!!!!!

      • A friend of mine used that plan and loved it. You will too.

        Just be sure to throw away any time goal you have and make your goal just to finish and to have fun. You will remember this for the rest of your life, so enjoy the journey!

        Oh and take those long runs even slower than you think you should. The benefits come from the slow and steady, the slower the better. (They’re also good for boosting your confidence.) You’ll need to increase your calories slightly and your water intake a lot–you definitely don’t want to run dehydrated. And when you get above 10 mile long runs, you’ll want to add extra fueling into your long runs (GU, Clif Bloks, Honey Stingers or something) so you don’t run out of gas.

        Excited for you chica!

  4. I think the most important thing to worry about right now is WHAT ARE YOU GOING TO WEAR FOR THE RACE?

  5. Way to go! Good luck, Nicole. What a fantastic goal!

  6. I admire your determination to train for a MARATHON! Good Grief! I could never understand what possesses someone to run such a grueling race but I do admire such people. I have to work myself into walking, and I LIKE walking. My knees don’t like running, that’s my excuse. Good luck to you on your training and your eventual run.

Leave a Reply

